Awards Committees

Our awards committees lead an internal recognition program and encourage quality applications to prestigious external awards and prizes. 

Faculty Research Awards Committee

The Faculty Research Awards Committee is composed of UBC faculty members who adjudicate internal awards and prizes that recognize excellence in research by UBC faculty members in a variety of disciplines.

  • Based on the recommendations of this committee, the Vice-President, Research & Innovation decides the winner of each internal award.
  • Two subcommittees consider applications and nominations for scholarly activity in the arts and humanities, and the sciences and applied sciences, respectively.
  • The committee is comprised of a non-voting chair (appointed by the Vice-President, Research & Innovation) and members on each subcommittee representing arts and humanities, business, applied science, science, and medicine. 
  • Members serve a three-year term. 
Committee Membership


the institutional council research prizes & awards

The awarding of national and international honours, awards and prizes to UBC researchers is an important hallmark of research excellence and is critical in attracting both funding partners and world-leading academic researchers to UBC. 

  • The Institutional Council for Research Prizes and Awards reports to the Vice-President Research & Innovation (VPRI) and provides advice to both the VPRI and to the President and Vice-Chancellor.
  • The Council is comprised of scholars from the different disciplinary clusters (humanities, creative and performing arts, social sciences, natural sciences, engineering, health), major award recipients, junior/mid-career/senior faculty members
  • The Council is committed to ensuring that equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) practices are reflected.
Committee Membership