UBC faculty appointed to Order of Canada

November 27, 2020 Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada, announced 114 new appointments to the Order of Canada.

Created in 1967, the Order of Canada is one of our country’s highest honours. Presented by the governor general, the Order honours people whose service shapes our society; whose innovations ignite our imaginations; and whose compassion unites our communities.

These new appointments include current, emeriti and former UBC faculty members. Congratulations to all new appointees.


New Members of the Order of Canada


Joseph Michael Connors, C.M. (Faculty of Medicine)
For his contributions to the study and treatment of lymphoid cancers, and for his role in the advancement of lymphoma care in Canada. 

David P. Wilkinson, C.M. (Faculty of Applied Science)
For his contributions to electrochemical science and engineering, particularly the ongoing development of fuel cell technology.

Roger Wong, C.M. (Faculty of Medicine)
For his contributions to the field of geriatric medicine, including the advancement of policies, education and specialized, culturally sensitive health care.


B. Lynn Beattie, C.M. (Faculty of Medicine)
For her pioneering contributions to the field of geriatric medicine in Canada and abroad.

Izak Benbasat, C.M.  (Sauder School of Business)
For his role in the development of the field of management information systems (MIS) and for his mentorship of generations of MIS scholars. 

Priscilla Edson Greenwood, C.M. (Faculty of Science)
For her contributions to the fields of statistics and mathematics, and for her pioneering work in probability theory.

Stanley Hamilton, C.M. (Sauder School of Business)
For his contributions to business education in Canada and abroad, and for generously supporting Vancouver’s arts scene.

John H. McNeill, C.M. (Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences) 
For his contributions to cardiovascular pharmacology and for his pioneering research that linked cardiac disease and diabetes.

Former Faculty Member

Carol Pearl Herbert, C.M. (Faculty of Medicine)
For her contributions to the fields of clinical and academic medicine, as a family physician, medical educator, researcher and administrator.

All appointees