15 UBC Researchers Announced as Canada Research Chairs

August 29, 2023

An investment of  $134 million was announced to support 157 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs across 35 institutions in Canada .

15 UBC researchers were announced as new and renewed Canada Research Chairs in the latest round of appointments, representing an investment of $12.8 million through the Canada Research Chairs program. 

The Canada Research Chairs Program enables Canadian universities to achieve the highest levels of research excellence and become world-class research centres. Chairholders improve our depth of knowledge and quality of life, strengthen Canada's international competitiveness, and help train the next generation of highly skilled people through student supervision, teaching and the coordination of other researchers' work.

The Canada Research Chairs were announced as part of the Government of Canada's investment of $960 million for research. The Honourable Randy Boissonnault, Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Official Languages, on behalf of the Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry, and of the Honourable Mark Holland, Minister of Health, announced support for over 4,700 researchers and research projects across Canada. These investments of over $960 million through grants, scholarships and programs are part of the government’s ongoing support for Canada’s research ecosystem.

This includes funding for new UBC-led projects through the Canada Research Chairs program; CFI's John R. Evans Leaders FundNSERC Discovery research programsNSERC PromoScienceSSHRC Insight Grants, Partnership Grants and Partnership Development Grants; Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships; and Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships.

Read the Government of Canada announcement.


  • Di Matteo, Olivia (Electrical and Computer Engineering) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Quantum Software and Algorithms
  • Ding, Jiarui (Computer Science) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Machine Learning and Single-cell Analysis
  • Kwon, Brian (Orthopaedics) Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Spinal Cord Injury
  • Nunn, Nathan (Vancouver School of Economics) Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Economics of Culture
  • Purcell, Sarah (Medicine/Biology UBCO) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Nutrition and Energy Metabolism in Chronic Disease
  • Reid, Andrea (Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Fisheries Science
  • Richman, Joy (Oral Health Sciences) Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Craniofacial and Dental Development
  • Safieddine, Hicham (History) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in The History of the Modern Middle East
  • Sriram, Veena (School of Public Policy and Global Affairs / School of Population and Public Health) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Global Health Policy
  • Tomfohr-Madsen, Lianne (Educational and Counselling Psychology, and Special Education) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Mental Health and Intersectionality
  • Vu, Ly (Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in RNA biology in Hematological Malignancies
  • Burton, Cole (Forest Resources Management) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Terrestrial Mammal Conservation
  • Keeling, Patrick (Botany) Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Microbial Diversity and Evolution
  • Huntsman, David (Pathology and Laboratory Medicine) Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Molecular and Genomic Pathology
  • Sigal, Leonid (Computer Science) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Computer Vision and Machine Learning



The CFI is awarding funding through its John R. Evans Leaders Fund (JELF), in partnership with the Canada Research Chairs (CRC) Program. The JELF funding allows universities to recruit and retain exceptional researchers by investing in the cutting-edge research infrastructure they need. CFI announced an investment of almost $5 million to 22 Canada Research Chairs at 12 universities across the country. The total includes $1.1 million under the CFI’s Infrastructure Operating Fund to help institutions with the incremental operating and maintenance costs associated with the new infrastructure.

Combined JELF Funding of $0.9 million was awarded to 6 UBC Canada Research Chairs: Drs. Jiaru Ding, Brian Kwon, Sarah Purcell, Andrea Reid, Lianne Tomfohr-Madsen, and Ly Vu.

read the cFI Announcement