Staff Directory

Office of the Vice-President, Research & innovation 

Address

Walter C. Koerner Library
Suite 580, 1958 Main Mall
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z2  Canada
Tel: 604-822-1995    Fax: 604-822-6295
Email: research.innovation@ubc.ca

 

Executive Officers

Prof. Gail Murphy, PhD
Vice-President, Research & Innovation
gail.murphy@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-4813
View bio

 

Prof. Rachel Fernandez, PhD
Associate Vice-President, Research & Innovation
rachel.fernandez@ubc.ca
tel: 604 822 1467
View bio

 

Prof. Matthew Evenden, PhD
Associate Vice-President, Research & Innovation
matthew.evenden@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-4100    
View bio

 

Greg Martyn
Executive Director, VPRI Portfolio
greg.martyn@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-1439
more

 

Elise Vredenbregt
Manager, Administrative Support &
Executive Assistant to Gail Murphy
elise.vredenbregt@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-0233
more
 

Hei Yeung Sze (Hiring Solutions)
Executive Assistant to Rachel Fernandez, Matthew Evenden & Greg Martyn
heiyeung.sze@ubc.ca 
tel: 604-827-2983
 

Hannelore Roos 
Executive Assistant to Matthew Evenden
(on leave)

Prof. Philip Barker, PhD
Associate Vice-President, Research & Vice-Principal, Research & Innovation, UBCO
philip.barker@ubc.ca
tel: 250-807-9582   
View bio
Daniela Hetrea
Executive Assistant to Phil Barker
daniela.hetrea@ubc.ca
tel: 250-807-9042

Staff in the VPRI Office

Iain Begg
Managing Director, Innovation Partnerships
iain.begg@ubc.ca
tel: 778-855-1757
more

 

Karen Chu
Manager, Innovation Partnerships — Life Sciences
karen.k.chu@ubc.ca
tel: 672-999-3016
more

 

Genevieve Creighton
Manager, UBC Knowledge Exchange
gen.creighton@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-1009
more

 

Marie-Claude Fortin
Manager, Shared Research Facilities
marie-claude.fortin@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-3603
more

 

Leslie Grad
Manager, Strategic Initiatives
leslie.grad@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-4550
more

 

Jamie Hall
Senior Manager, Communications
jamie.hall@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-1267
more

 

Sabrina Hauser
Manager, Innovation Partnerships – Digital
on leave until January 2023
more
 

Stacey Herzer
Manager, Internal Research Competitions
stacey.herzer@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-2379
more
 

Jonathan Hayes

 

Clare Kiernan
Communications Strategist
clare.kiernan@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-1870
more
 

Tina Lee
Partnership Development Specialist
tina.lee@ubc.ca
tel: 778-522-1265
more
 

Ugen Lhazin
Knowledge Exchange Specialist
ugen.lhazin@ubc.ca
more

 

Adedoyin Luwaji
Planning & Evaluation Strategist, Dimensions
adedoyin.luwaji@ubc.ca
more

 

Ariane Madden
Communications Specialist
ariane.madden@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-5399
more

 

Vanessa Power
Communications Specialist
vanessa.power@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-6050
more

 

Robbin Simao
Innovation Partnerships Manager, Natural Resources and Sustainability
robbin.simao@ubc.ca
tel: 778-874-9769

 

Evelina Tolstykh
Project Coordinator, Dimensions
evelina.tolstykh@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-0042
more

Faculty Research Advisors

UBC's National Funding Agency Research Advisors are specially appointed faculty members who work closely with researchers to promote awareness of funding opportunities across all disciplines and to provide support for individuals or groups considering applications to external agencies.  

Dr. Purang Abolmaesumi
Sciences & Engineering Research Advisor (NSERC)
purang@ece.ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-4741

Dr. Leonard Foster
CFI Advisor
foster@chibi.ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-8311 

Dr. Liisa Galea
Health Research Advisor (CIHR)
liisa.galea@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-6536

Dr. Lisa Sundstrom
Social Sciences & Humanities Research Advisor (SSHRC)
lisa.sundstrom@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-6331