Staff Directory

Office of the Vice-President, Research & innovation 

Address

Room 103 - Old Administration Building
6328 Memorial Road
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z2  Canada
Tel: (604) 822-1995    Fax: (604) 822-6295
Email: research.info@ubc.ca

 

Executive Officers

Prof. Gail Murphy, PhD
Vice-President, Research & Innovation
gail.murphy@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-4813
View bio

 

Prof. Helen M. Burt, PhD
Associate Vice-President, Research & Innovation
helen.burt@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-1467    
View bio

Prof. Matthew Evenden, PhD
Associate Vice-President, Research & Innovation
matthew.evenden@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-4100    
View bio
 

Prof. Philip Barker, PhD
Associate Vice-President, Research & Vice-Principal, Research, UBCO
philip.barker@ubc.ca
tel: 250-807-9582   
View bio

Elise Vredenbregt
Manager, Administrative Support &
Executive Assistant to Gail Murphy
elise.vredenbregt@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-0233
more

Maureen Collins
Executive Assistant to Helen Burt & Greg Martyn
maureen.collins@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-2983
more

 

Hannelore Roos 
Executive Assistant to Matthew Evenden
hannelore.roos@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-0057
more

 

Daniela Hetrea
Executive Assistant to Phil Barker
daniela.hetrea@ubc.ca
tel: 250-807-9042

Staff in the VPRI Office

Claire Adams
Communications Specialist
claire.adams@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-1870
more

 

Iain Begg
Managing Director, Innovation Partnerships
iain.begg@ubc.ca
tel: 778-855-1757
more

 

Brenda Carrier
Manager, Faculty Awards & Prizes
brenda.carrier@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-6010
more

 

Deb Chen
Learning Design Strategist
deborah.chen@ubc.ca
tel: 604 822-1983
more

 

Raquel De Souza
Manager, Innovation Partnerships - Life Sciences
On Leave

 

Marie-Claude Fortin
Manager, Shared Research Facilities
marie-claude.fortin@ubc.ca
tel:604-827-3603
more

 

Leslie Grad
Manager, Strategic Initiatives
leslie.grad@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-4550
more

 

Riya Ganguly
Director, Strategic Partnerships
riya.ganguly@ubc.ca 
tel: 604 218-7628 
more

 

Jamie Hall
Senior Manager, Communications
jamie.hall@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-1267
more

 

Stacey Herzer
Manager, Internal Research Competitions
stacey.herzer@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-2379
more

Jonathan Hayes
Director, Strategic Benchmarking
jonathan.hayes@ubc.ca
more

 

Erica Machulak
Knowledge Exchange Specialist
erica.machulak@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-1009
more
 

Ariane Madden
Communications Coordinator
ariane.madden@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-5399
more

 

Greg Martyn
Director, VPRI Portfolio
greg.martyn@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-1439
more

 

Vanessa Power
Communications Coordinator
vanessa.power@ubc.ca
604-822-6050
more

 

Dmitriy Ryabika
Strategic Initiatives Officer
dmitriy.ryabika@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-2762
more

 

Karine Souffez
Associate Director, Knowledge Exchange
karine.souffez@ubc.ca
tel: 604 505-7854
more

 

Megan Stewart
Project Manager, Major Research Projects
megan.stewart@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-5107
more

 

Evelina Tolstykh
Research Awards Coordinator
evelina.tolstykh@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-0042
more

Faculty Research Advisors

UBC's National Funding Agency Research Advisors are specially appointed faculty members who work closely with researchers to promote awareness of funding opportunities across all disciplines and to provide support for individuals or groups considering applications to external agencies.  

Prof. Lara Boyd
Health Research Advisor
lara.boyd@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-7197

Prof. Leonard Foster
CFI Advisor
foster@chibi.ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-8311 

Prof. Alan Kingstone
Social Sciences & Humanities Research Advisor
alan.kingstone@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-9230

Prof. Tim Salcudean
Sciences & Engineering Research Advisor
tims@ece.ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-3243 

Institutional Programs Office 

The Institutional Programs Office manages the full cycle of major federal, provincial and regional research infrastructure awards including those offered by the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI), the BC Knowledge Development Fund (BCKDF), Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD), the Canada First Research Excellence Fund (CFREF), Canada 150 programs, and Canada Excellence Research Chairs (CERCs).

Sharon Wu
Managing Director, Research Support Services
sharon.wu@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-5279

Meisan Brown-Lum
CFI/BCKDF Program Officer
meisan.brownlum@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-5170

Eston Shum
VPRI Portfolio Finance Director
eston.shum@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-1938

Earl Dyer
Senior Finance Manager
earl.dyer@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-5281

Lynn Chia

Senior Finance Officer
lynn.chia@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-5278

Lena Li
Finance Manager, CFI/BCKDF
lena.li@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-0644

Andy Lam
Associate Director, Institutional Programs Office
andy.lam@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-9965

Lis Boyan
Financial Analyst
lisrianti.boyan@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-8026

Cynthia Bai
Financial Analyst, CFI/BCKDF
cynthia.bai@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-0690

Yvonne Lee
Senior Financial Analyst, CFI/BCKDF
yvonne.lee@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-0232