Staff Directory

Office of the Vice-President, Research & innovation 

Address

Room 103 - Old Administration Building
6328 Memorial Road
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z2  Canada
Tel: (604) 822-1995    Fax: (604) 822-6295
Email: research.info@ubc.ca

 

Executive Officers

Prof. Gail Murphy, PhD
Vice-President, Research & Innovation
gail.murphy@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-4813
View bio
 

Prof. Helen M. Burt, PhD
Associate Vice-President, Research & Innovation
helen.burt@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-1467    
View bio

 

Prof. Philip Barker, PhD
Associate Vice-President, Research & Vice-Principal, Research, UBCO
philip.barker@ubc.ca
tel: 250-807-9582   
View bio

Elise Vredenbregt
Executive Assistant to Gail Murphy
elise.vredenbregt@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-0233
more

 

Corey Ouellet
Executive Assistant to Helen Burt
corey.ouellet@ubc.ca
tel: 604 827 2983
 

Staff in the VPRI Office

Claire Adams
Communications Coordinator
claire.adams@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-1870

 

Brenda Carrier
Manager, Faculty Awards & Prizes
brenda.carrier@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-6010
more 
 

Marie-Claude Fortin
Shared Infrastructure Manager
marie-claude.fortin@ubc.ca
 

Jamie Hall
Manager, Communications
jamie.hall@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-1267
more
 

 

Greg Martyn
Director
greg.martyn@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-1439
more
 

Vanessa Power
Coordinator, Communications (VPRI)
vanessa.power@ubc.ca
604-822-6050
more
 

Dmitriy Ryabika
Research Analyst
dmitriy.ryabika@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-2762
more
 

Megan Stewart
Project Manager, Major Research Projects
megan.stewart@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-5107

 
Evelina Tolstykh
Research Awards Coordinator
evelina.tolstykh@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-0042
more

International Office Contacts

*The International Office has transitioned to the Vice-President, Academic. Visit the key contacts page for International Office contact information.

Faculty Research Advisors

UBC's National Funding Agency Research Advisors are specially appointed faculty members who work closely with researchers to promote awareness of funding opportunities across all disciplines and to provide support for individuals or groups considering applications to external agencies.  

Prof. Lara Boyd
Health Research Advisor
lara.boyd@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-7197

Prof. Leonard Foster
CFI Advisor
foster@chibi.ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-8311 

Prof. Alan Kingstone
Social Sciences & Humanities Research Advisor
alan.kingstone@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-9230

Prof. Tim Salcudean
Sciences & Engineering Research Advisor
tims@ece.ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-3243 

Institutional Programs Office 

The Institutional Programs Office manages the full cycle of major federal, provincial and regional research infrastructure awards including those offered by the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI), the BC Knowledge Development Fund (BCKDF), Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD), the Canada First Research Excellence Fund (CFREF), Canada 150 programs, and Canada Excellence Research Chairs (CERCs).

Sharon Wu
Managing Director, Research Support Services
sharon.wu@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-5279

Meisan Brown-Lum
CFI/BCKDF Program Officer
meisan.brownlum@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-5170

Anna Kim
Research & Administration Coordinator
anna.kim@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-1352

Eston Shum
VPRI Portfolio Finance Director
eston.shum@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-1938

Earl Dyer
Senior Finance Manager
earl.dyer@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-5281

Lynn Chia
Senior Finance Officer
lynn.chia@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-5278

Lena Li
Finance Manager, CFI/BCKDF
lena.li@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-0644

Andy Lam
Associate Director, Institutional Programs Office
andy.lam@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-9965

Lis Boyan
Financial Analyst
lisrianti.boyan@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-8026

Cynthia Bai
Financial Analyst, CFI/BCKDF
cynthia.bai@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-0690

Yvonne Lee
Senior Financial Analyst, CFI/BCKDF
yvonne.lee@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-0232

Indigenous Research Support Initiative

The Indigenous Research Support Initiative recognizes that more effective research and greater mutual understanding can be developed from identifying, developing and supporting research practices that proceed from respectful relations between researchers and Indigenous communities. The vision of the inititiative is to provide professional research support and services to Indigenous communities and university researchers to undertake collaborative projects based on community-led interests, reciprocal relationships, and principles of mutual accountability.

Lerato Chondoma
Associate Director
604-827-4452
lerato.chondoma@ubc.ca