Staff Directory

Office of the Vice-President, Research & innovation 


Room 103 - Old Administration Building
6328 Memorial Road
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z2  Canada
Tel: (604) 822-1995    Fax: (604) 822-6295


Executive Officers

Prof. Gail Murphy, PhD
Vice-President, Research & Innovation
tel: 604-822-4813
View bio


Prof. Helen M. Burt, PhD
Associate Vice-President, Research & Innovation
tel: 604-822-1467    
View bio

Prof. Matthew Evenden, PhD
Associate Vice-President, Research & Innovation
tel: 604-827-4100    
View bio

Prof. Philip Barker, PhD
Associate Vice-President, Research & Vice-Principal, Research, UBCO
tel: 250-807-9582   
View bio

Elise Vredenbregt
Manager, Administrative Support &
Executive Assistant to Gail Murphy
tel: 604-822-0233

Maureen Collins
Executive Assistant to Helen Burt & Greg Martyn
tel: 604-827-2983


Hannelore Roos 
Executive Assistant to Matthew Evenden
tel: 604-827-0057


Daniela Hetrea
Executive Assistant to Phil Barker
tel: 250-807-9042

Staff in the VPRI Office

Claire Adams
Communications Specialist
tel: 604-827-1870


Iain Begg
Managing Director, Innovation Partnerships
tel: 778-855-1757


Brenda Carrier
Manager, Faculty Awards & Prizes
tel: 604-822-6010


Deborah Chen
Learning Design Strategist
tel: 604 822-1983 


Raquel De Souza
Manager, Innovation Partnerships - Life Sciences
On Leave


Marie-Claude Fortin
Shared Research Facilities Manager


Riya Ganguly
Director, Strategic Partnerships 
tel: 604 218-7628 


Jamie Hall
Senior Manager, Communications
tel: 604-822-1267


Stacey Herzer
Manager, Internal Research Competitions
tel: 604-827-2379

Sona Kazemi
Manager, Innovation Partnerships - Natural Resources / Clean Technology
tel: 778-384-4241 

Erica Machulak
Knowledge Exchange Specialist
tel: 604-827-1009   

Ariane Madden
Communications Coordinator
tel: 604-827-5399


Greg Martyn
Director, VPRI Portfolio
tel: 604-827-1439


Vanessa Power
Communications Coordinator


Dmitriy Ryabika
Research Analyst
tel: 604-827-2762


Karine Souffez
Associate Director, Knowledge Exchange
tel: 604 505-7854


Megan Stewart
Project Manager, Major Research Projects
tel: 604-827-5107


Evelina Tolstykh
Research Awards Coordinator
tel: 604-827-0042

Faculty Research Advisors

UBC's National Funding Agency Research Advisors are specially appointed faculty members who work closely with researchers to promote awareness of funding opportunities across all disciplines and to provide support for individuals or groups considering applications to external agencies.  

Prof. Lara Boyd
Health Research Advisor
tel: 604-822-7197

Prof. Leonard Foster
CFI Advisor
tel: 604-822-8311 

Prof. Alan Kingstone
Social Sciences & Humanities Research Advisor
tel: 604-822-9230

Prof. Tim Salcudean
Sciences & Engineering Research Advisor
tel: 604-822-3243 

Institutional Programs Office 

The Institutional Programs Office manages the full cycle of major federal, provincial and regional research infrastructure awards including those offered by the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI), the BC Knowledge Development Fund (BCKDF), Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD), the Canada First Research Excellence Fund (CFREF), Canada 150 programs, and Canada Excellence Research Chairs (CERCs).

Sharon Wu
Managing Director, Research Support Services
tel: 604-827-5279

Meisan Brown-Lum
CFI/BCKDF Program Officer
tel: 604-827-5170

Eston Shum
VPRI Portfolio Finance Director
tel: 604-822-1938

Earl Dyer
Senior Finance Manager
tel: 604-827-5281

Lynn Chia

Senior Finance Officer
tel: 604-827-5278

Lena Li
Finance Manager, CFI/BCKDF
tel: 604-827-0644

Andy Lam
Associate Director, Institutional Programs Office
tel: 604-822-9965

Lis Boyan
Financial Analyst
tel: 604-822-8026

Cynthia Bai
Financial Analyst, CFI/BCKDF
tel: 604-822-0690

Yvonne Lee
Senior Financial Analyst, CFI/BCKDF
tel: 604-822-0232

Indigenous Research Support Initiative

The Indigenous Research Support Initiative recognizes that more effective research and greater mutual understanding can be developed from identifying, developing and supporting research practices that proceed from respectful relations between researchers and Indigenous communities. The vision of the inititiative is to provide professional research support and services to Indigenous communities and university researchers to undertake collaborative projects based on community-led interests, reciprocal relationships, and principles of mutual accountability.

Lerato Chondoma
Associate Director

Emily LeBaron
Manager, Administration & Special Initiatives