Associate Deans, Research

The Committee of the Associate Deans of Research represents each UBC faculty and college on the Vancouver campus and is chaired by the Vice-President, Research & Innovation.

The committee serves as a vehicle for notifying the research community about new research initiatives from the Vice-President, Research & Innovation Office as well as from external sources.

Its mandate is to implement UBC's research strategy, provide advice on issues affecting the research performance of faculty, and foster enhanced research activity.

The committee meets four times a year.

Applied Science 
Walter Mérida 604-822-4189

Christiane Hoppmann 604-822-4074

Hannu S. Larjava 604-822-6822

Nancy Perry 604-822-6410

Taraneh Sowlati 604-822-6109

Graduate Studies
Julien Dierkes (interim) 604-822-8889

Land and Food Systems
David Kitts 604-822-5560

Graham Reynolds 604-822-5559

Sophia Frangou  604 827-2767

Pharmaceutical Sciences 
Colin Ross (acting) 604-827-2017 

Sauder School of Business
Mahesh Nagarajan 604-822-8360

Curtis Suttle (interim) 604-822-9652


Leadership at UBC-affiliated Research Institutes

UBC is affiliated with provincial health research institutes in which much of UBC's health research and teaching is conducted. The Vancouver Coastal Health Research Institute at Vancouver General Hospital is operated by Vancouver Coastal Health; the Providence Health Care Research Institute at St. Paul's Hospital is operated by Providence Health Care. UBC Hospital is also operated by Vancouver Coastal Health.

BC Cancer Agency
Francois Bénard 

BC Centre for Disease Control
David Patrick

BC Children's Hospital Research Institute
Wyeth Wasserman

Providence Health Care Research Institute
Donald Sin

Provincial Health Services Authority
Ellen Chesney

Vancouver Coastal Health Research Institute

Teresa Tsang 

Women's Health Research Institute
Lori Brotto