External Review of Grants for Catalyzing Research Clusters Program

UBC’s Grants for Catalyzing Research Clusters (GCRC) program fosters collaboration and enables the formation and growth of interdisciplinary research excellence clusters. An external review of the program is being carried out to assess its effectiveness in supporting Research Excellence Strategy 6 (Collaborative Clusters) in UBC’s strategic plan.

The external review includes on-site interviews with key stakeholders conducted by visiting reviewers and also enables members of the UBC Vancouver research community to submit confidential written comments on the GCRC program. You can access the terms of reference at: https://research.ubc.ca/gcrc-tor.pdf.

The external reviewers (listed below) will visit UBC Vancouver and meet with a cross section of the research community on November 3-4, 2022.

  • Dr. William Ghali, Vice-President (Research), University of Calgary
  • Dr. Barbara Fallon, Associate Vice-President, Research, University of Toronto
  • Dr. Anya Waite, Associate Vice-President, Research (Ocean), Dalhousie University

All faculty and staff, as well as students engaged with clusters, are invited to provide written comments relating to the GCRC program at https://ubc.ca1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_3gG7okK0crfukKy by October 28, 2022. These comments will be sent directly and in confidence to the external reviewers. Please include your name and affiliation to UBC.

Questions or comments about the review process may by be directed to Matthew Evenden, Associate Vice-President, Research & Innovation (matthew.evenden@ubc.ca).

The Grants for Catalyzing Research Clusters program was jointly created by the Offices of the Vice-President, Research & Innovation and the Provost and Vice-President, Academic, UBC Vancouver. The findings of the review will be of value to the senior administration and the university community as a whole. Your engagement in this process is appreciated.

Gail C. Murphy
Vice-President, Research & Innovation

Gage Averill
Provost and Vice-President, Academic, pro tem, UBC Vancouver