Fifteen New and Renewed UBC Canada Research Chairs Announced

Fifteen UBC researchers were appointed as new and renewed Canada Research Chairs in the latest round of appointments announced on June 15, 2021.

The Canada Research Chairs Program enables Canadian universities to achieve the highest levels of research excellence and become world-class research centres. Chairholders improve our depth of knowledge and quality of life, strengthen Canada's international competitiveness, and help train the next generation of highly skilled people through student supervision, teaching and the coordination of other researchers' work.

The CRC Program is investing more than $125 million to support 156 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs at 36 institutions. The Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI), a partner of the program, has additionally provided more than $6.4 million to 29 Canada Research Chairs at 19 universities across the country for the cutting-edge labs and equipment they need to pursue their important work.

The 15 new and renewed UBC chairholders being announced represent an investment of $12.3 million through the Canada Research Chairs program. An additional $0.7 million was awarded to six new chairholders at UBC through the CFI John R. Evans Leaders Fund.

UBC currently has 199 Canada Research Chairs. 

The new and renewed chairs were announced as part of the Government of Canada's investment of more than $635 million for research, which also included funding through NSERC Discovery Grants and SSHRC Insight Grants, Insight Development Grants, Partnership Grants and Partnership Development Grants. New projects led by UBC researchers and new and renewed UBC Canada Research Chairs were awarded approximately $48 million of this announced investment.


Canada Research Chairs Program Announcement

UBC Canada Research Chairs

NEW Chairs 
  1. Kimberley Brownlee (Philosophy) Tier 1 CRC in Ethics and Political and Social Philosophy 
  2. Anne Gadermann (School of Population and Public Health) Tier 2 CRC in Bio-Eco-Social Determinants of Child and Youth Mental Health 
  3. Tillie-Louise Hackett (Department of Anesthesiology, Pharmacology & Therapeutics) Tier 1 CRC in Asthma and Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary disease pathobiology and therapeutics
  4. Mahsa Jessri (Faculty of Land and Food Systems)Tier 2 CRC in Nutritional Epidemiology for Population Health
  5. Megan Levings (Surgery / School of Biomedical Engineering) Tier 1 CRC in Engineered Immune Tolerance
  6. Eugenia Oviedo-Joekes (School of Population and Public Health) Tier 1 CRC in Person-Centered Care in Addiction and Public Health
  7. Amina Zoubeidi (Urological Sciences) Tier 1 CRC in Cancer therapy resistance
  8. Jill Zwicker (Occupational Science & Occupational Therapy) Tier 2 CRC in Pediatric Brain Development and Rehabilitation
RENEWed Chairs
  1. Maureen Ashe (Family Practice) Tier 2 CRC in Community Mobility
  2. Lori Brotto (Obstetrics & Gynaecology) Tier 2 CRC in Women's Sexual Health
  3. Simone Castallarin (Faculty of Land and Food Systems) Tier 2 CRC in Viticulture
  4. Amin Ghaziani (Sociology) Tier 2 CRC in Urban Sexualities
  5. Cara Haney (Microbiology and Immunology) Tier 2 CRC in Molecular mechanisms in host-microbiome interactions
  6. Philipp Lange (Pathology and Laboratory Medicine) Tier 2 CRC in Translational Proteogenomics in Pediatric Malignancies
  7. Alexander Rauscher (Pediatrics) Tier 2 CRC in Quantitative Magnetic Resonance Imaging

ALL New and renewed chairs Announced


The CFI is awarding funding through its John R. Evans Leaders Fund (JELF), in partnership with the Canada Research Chairs (CRC) Program. The JELF funding allows universities to attract top talent in diverse fields of research by providing them with the state-of-the art infrastructure required to think big and innovate. CFI announced an investment of more than $6.4 million to 29 Canada Research Chairs at 19 universities across the country for the cutting-edge labs and equipment they need to pursue their important work. The total includes close to $1.5 million under the CFI’s Infrastructure Operating Fund to help institutions with the incremental operating and maintenance costs associated with the new infrastructure.

A combined total of $700,384 in JELF Funding was awarded to six new UBC Canada Research Chairs Drs. Anne Gadermann, Tillie-Louis Hackett, Mahsa Jessri, Megan Levings, Eugenia Oviedo-Joekes and Jill Zwicker. 

CFI Announcement