Canada Research Coordinating Committee announces membership of the Indigenous Leadership Circle in Research

April 28, 2022

The Canada Research Coordinating Committee (CRCC) has announced the members of the Indigenous Leadership Circle in Research (Leadership Circle).

This group will advise the presidents of Canada’s three federal research funding agencies—CIHR, NSERC and SSHRC—and the CFI, on the implementation of the interagency strategic plan Setting new directions to support Indigenous research and research training in Canada 2019-2022.

The Leadership Circle is more than an advisory body, as members will be active participants in the process of monitoring progress of the strategic plan’s implementation. Members will identify issues and opportunities, and recommend approaches to support the successful implementation of the strategic plan. Members may also provide guidance on additional matters that could help enhance support for Indigenous research and training.

The Leadership Circle was created to ensure that the path to building new models for Indigenous research and research training will be informed by First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples.

Following a call for expressions of interest, Leadership Circle members were selected based on the recommendations of an external expert committee of leaders, which was composed exclusively of First Nations, Inuit and Métis scholars and community members.

Members of the Leaderships Circle inlcude UBC's Alexander T. Duncan and Dr. Amy Parent.

  • Shane H. Camastro, Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres
  • Sherri Chisan, University Blue Quills
  • Kori Czuy, Telus Spark Science Centre
  • Alexander T. Duncan, The University of British Columbia
  • Kimberly Fairman, Institute for Circumpolar Health Research
  • Emily Grafton, University of Regina
  • Dana (Danielle) Hickey, Native Women’s Association of Canada
  • Élisabeth Kaine, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi
  • Damien Lee, Ryerson University
  • Ry Moran, University of Victoria
  • Diane Obed, Mount Saint Vincent University
  • Amy Parent, The University of British Columbia
  • Jesse Popp, University of Guelph
  • Nicole Redvers, University of North Dakota
  • Lee Wilson, University of Saskatchewan
  • Ex-officio member Brenda Gunn, National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation
  • Ex-officio member, Scientific Director, Institute of Indigenous Peoples’ Health (to come)
  • Elder and Knowledge Keeper (to come)

Read the announcement