New UBC Distinguished University Scholars

UBC is pleased to announce eleven new Distinguished University Scholars. These awards recognize exceptional members of faculty who have distinguished themselves as scholars in research and/or teaching and learning.  

The DUS appointment is a five-year term, renewable once. 

Congratulations to the following recipients!  

Yusuf Altintas, Applied Science (Mechanical Engineering) 

Sam Aparicio, Medicine (Pathology)

Annette Browne, Applied Science (Nursing) 

Rita Irwin, Education (Curriculum and Pedagogy) 

Roman Krems, Science (Chemistry) 

Lisa Matthewson, Arts (Linguistics) 

Kathleen Martin Ginis, Health & Social Development (Health & Exercise Sciences)

Jamie Peck, Arts (Geography) 

Edward Slingerland, Arts (Asian Studies) 

Curtis Suttle, Science (Earth & Ocean Sciences) 

Bruno Zumbo, Education (Educational and Counselling Psychology)