Nine new and renewed UBC Canada Research Chairs announced

June 14, 2024

An investment of  $94.5 million was announced to support 121 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs across 39 institutions in Canada .

Nine UBC researchers were announced as new and renewed Canada Research Chairs in the latest round of appointments, representing an investment of $7.4 million through the Canada Research Chairs program. 

The Canada Research Chairs Program enables Canadian universities to achieve the highest levels of research excellence and become world-class research centres. Chairholders improve our depth of knowledge and quality of life, strengthen Canada's international competitiveness, and help train the next generation of highly skilled people through student supervision, teaching and the coordination of other researchers' work.

The Canada Reseacrh Chairs were announced by Yasir Naqvi, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Health, and Ryan Turnbull, Parliamentary Secretary to the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance and Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry, on behalf of the Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Innovation, Science, and Industry, as part of the Government of Canada's investment of $693.8 million in funding for discovery and applied research. 

This includes funding for new UBC-led projects through NSERC 2024 Discovery Research Program, NSERC PromoScience, the Canada Research Chairs program and CFI's John R. Evans Leaders Fund; 


  • Warren Cardinal-McTeague (Forest and Conservation Sciences) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Peoples, Governance, and Environmental Relations
  • Wenying Liu (Materials Engineering) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Battery Materials Extraction
  • Amori Mikami (Psychology) Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Clinical Child Psychology
  • Selena Sagan (Microbiology & Immunology) Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in RNA Biology & Viral Infections
  • Corinna Schindler (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology / Chemistry) Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Synthetic Solutions for Bioactive Compounds
  • Marie Auger-Méthé (Statistics / Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Statistical Ecology
  • Luke Bergmann (Geography) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in GIS, Geospatial Big Data and Digital Geohumanities
  • Liam Brunham (Medicine) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Precision Cardiovascular Disease Prevention
  • Annie Ciernia (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Understanding Gene Expression in the Brain


See the full list of chairs announced


The CFI is awarding funding through its John R. Evans Leaders Fund (JELF), in partnership with the Canada Research Chairs (CRC) Program. The JELF funding allows universities to recruit and retain exceptional researchers by investing in the cutting-edge research infrastructure they need to advance their work. CFI announced an investment of $3.9 million to support 18 Canada Research Chairs at 15 universities across the country. The total includes $0.9 million under the CFI’s Infrastructure Operating Fund to help institutions with the incremental operating and maintenance costs associated with the new infrastructure.

Combined JELF Funding of $0.5 million was awarded to three UBC Canada Research Chairs: Drs. Warren Cardinal-McTeague, Amori Mikami and Selena Sagan.

read the cFI Announcement