Nineteen UBC researchers announced as new and renewed Canada Research Chairs

March 13, 2024

An investment of more than $191 million was announced to support 230 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs at 50 postsecondary research institutions across Canada.

The Canada Foundation for Innovation, a program partner, is investing close to $9 million in additional funds through its John R. Evans Leaders Fund to support the research infrastructure needs of 40 Canada Research Chairs at 22 institutions. 

Nineteen UBC researchers were announced as new and renewed Canada Research Chairs in the latest round of appointments, representing an investment of $14.9 million through the Canada Research Chairs program. 

The Canada Research Chairs Program enables Canadian universities to achieve the highest levels of research excellence and become world-class research centres. Chairholders improve our depth of knowledge and quality of life, strengthen Canada's international competitiveness, and help train the next generation of highly skilled people through student supervision, teaching and the coordination of other researchers' work.

The Canada Research Chairs were announced as part of the Government of Canada's investment of over $1.7 billion in research. The Honourable Pablo Rodriguez, Minister of Transport and Quebec Lieutenant, on behalf of the Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry, and the Honourable Mark Holland, Minister of Health, announced support for over 7,700 researchers and research projects across Canada. 

This investment includes funding for UBC researchers through the Canada Research Chairs program; CFI's Innovation FundNSERC Alliance Grants; and SSHRC Insight Development Grants as well as graduate student and postdoctoral scholarships and fellowships, and support through the Research Support Fund.

Read the Government of Canada  announcement


  • Barnett, Kristen (Anthropology) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Archaeology
  • Blakney, Anna (Michael Smith Laboratories / School of Biomedical Engineering) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Nucleic Acid Bioengineering
  • Ferguson, Alanaise (Community, Culture and Global Studies, UBCO) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Health, Healing, and Community Revitalization: Indigenous Approaches to Overcoming Intergenerational Trauma and Loss
  • Giang, Amanda (Institute for Resources, Environment & Sustainability / Mechanical Engineering) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Environmental Modelling for Policy
  • Guan, Leluo (Land and Food Systems) Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Animal Functional Genomics and Microbiome
  • Hughes, William (School of Engineering, UBCO) Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in DNA Engineering
  • Keramatian, Kamyar (Psychiatry) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Early Intervention in Psychosis/Bipolar Disorder
  • Lachance, Lindsay (Theatre & Film) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Land-based and Relational Dramaturgies
  • Madzvamuse, Anotida (Mathematics) Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Theoretical and Computational Biology
  • Park, Yongjin (Pathology & Laboratory Medicine / Statistics) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Integrative Causality Inference of Cancer Mechanisms
  • Routh, Supriya (Peter A. Allard School of Law) Tier 2 Canada Research in Labour Law & Social Justice
  • Ryan, Katherine (Chemistry) Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Biosynthetic Enzymes
  • Tropini, Carolina (Microbiology & Immunology / School of Biomedical Engineering) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Quantitative Microbiota Biology for Health Applications
  • Cheung, William (Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Ocean Sustainability and Global Change
  • Ghoreishi Madiseh, Seyed Ali (Mining Engineering) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Advanced Mine Energy Systems
  • Jiang, Feng (Wood Science) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Sustainable Functional Biomaterials
  • Ng, Raymond (Computer Science) Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Data Science and Analytics
  • Williams, Karla (Pharmaceutical Sciences) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Oncology
  • Ye, Ziliang (Physics and Astronomy) Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Two-dimensional Quantum Materials



The CFI is awarding funding through its John R. Evans Leaders Fund (JELF), in partnership with the CRC Program. The JELF funding allows universities to recruit and retain exceptional researchers by investing in the cutting-edge research infrastructure they need. An investment of $8.7 million in research infrastructure funding through the CFI was announced to support 40 Canada Research Chairs at 22 universities across the country. The total includes $2.0 million awarded under the CFI’s Infrastructure Operating Fund, which helps institutions with the incremental operation and maintenance costs associated with the new infrastructure.

Combined JELF Funding of $0.9 million was awarded to five UBC Canada Research Chairs: Drs. Kristen Barnett, Alanaise Ferguson, Leluo Guan, William Hughes and Anotida Madzvamuse.

read the CFI Announcement