UBC Faculty Among Latest Order of Canada Appointees

On June 29, 2022, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor General of Canada, announced 85 new appointments to the Order of Canada and 4 promotions within the Order.

The Order of Canada is one of Canada's highest civilian honours. Its Companions, Officers and Members take to heart the motto of the Order: DESIDERANTES MELIOREM PATRIAM ("They desire a better country").  The Order of Canada was created in 1967 to honour people whose service shapes our society, whose innovations ignite our imaginations, and whose compassion unites our communities.

Read the announcement


Past and present UBC faculty members are among the new appointees.

Officers of the Order of Canada (O.C.)

Paul Joseph Dubord, O.C. (Emeritus, Ophthalmology, Faculty of Medicine)
For his contributions to ophthalmology and for his tireless humanitarian work on the international stage, notably in India.

Donald Arthur Enarson, O.C. (deceased) (Former faculty member, Faculty of Medicine)
For his work as a scientist, professor and physician who has contributed to greater understanding and improvement of lung health and global tuberculosis control.


Granger Richard Avery, C.M. (Family Practice, Faculty of Medicine)
For his incisive leadership in the practice of rural medicine and for his tireless commitment to improving Canada’s health care system.

Eva-Marie Kröller, C.M. (Emerita, English Language and Literatures, Faculty of Arts)
For her contributions to the appreciation of Canadian writing, and for her achievements as an educator.

Martin T. Schechter, C.M., O.B.C. (School of Population and Public Health, Faculty of Medicine)
For his groundbreaking research in HIV/AIDS treatment protocols and for his leadership in the development of numerous leading-edge health institutes.

Please let us know if we have missed any current, former or UBC-affiliated faculty members from this listing.