UBC Faculty Among Latest Order of Canada Appointees

Ordre of Canada medal

On June 30, 2023, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor General of Canada, announced 85 new appointments to the Order of Canada.

The Order of Canada is one of Canada's highest honours. Its Companions, Officers and Members take to heart the motto of the Order: DESIDERANTES MELIOREM PATRIAM ("They desire a better country").  The Order of Canada was created in 1967 to honour people whose service shapes our society, whose innovations ignite our imaginations, and whose compassion unites our communities. 

Read the announcement


Past and present UBC faculty members are among the new appointees.

Officers of the Order of Canada (O.C.)

lax̌lax̌tkʷ Jeannette Christine Armstrong, O.C. (Community, Culture and Global Studies, Irving K. Barber Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences)
For her contributions to Canadian literature through her novels and poetry, and for her leadership in revitalizing the Syilx Okanagan Indigenous language.    

Former Faculty Member

Keith Dobson, O.C. (Department of Psychology at the University of Calgary, formerly Department of Psychology at UBC from 1982 to 1989)
For his contributions as a world-leading expert in depression and anxiety, and as an advocate of mental health and wellness in Canada and abroad.


Barbara Arneil, C.M. (Political Science, Faculty of Arts)
For her wide-ranging and impactful studies on political theory, as well as for her leadership in the political science field and her mentorship of young scholars.

John Fleetham, C.M. (Department of Medicine, Faculty of Medicine)
For his pioneering work in sleep disorder medicine and for his mentorship of the next generation of sleep scientists.

Sally Thorne, C.M. (School of Nursing, Faculty of Applied Science)
For her extensive contributions to the practice and discipline of nursing, as a researcher, academic and leader.

Jeff Reading, C.M. (Affiliate Professor, School of Kinesiology, Faculty of Education)
For his groundbreaking contributions to Indigenous health research and for his leadership in bringing Indigenous perspectives to scientific and health institutions.

Keith Walley, C.M. (Department of Medicine, Faculty of Medicine)
For his innovative and translational research in the field of sepsis and septic shock.

Michael Wulder, C.M. (Canadian Forest Service and Adjunct Professor, Faculty of Forestry)
For his internationally recognized innovations in the field of remote sensing for mapping and monitoring land cover.

Please let us know if we have missed any current, former or UBC-affiliated faculty members from this listing.