UBC Faculty Among Order of Canada December 2022 Appointees

On December 29, 2022, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor General of Canada, announced 99 appointments to the Order of Canada.

The new appointees include 2 Companions (C.C.), 32 Officers (O.C.) and 65 Members (C.M.).

The Order of Canada is one of Canada's highest civilian honours. Since its creation in 1967, more than 7 600 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order.

UBC faculty members are among the new appointees.

Read the announcement

Officers of the Order of Canada

Dr. Allen Eaves, O.C., O.B.C. (Professor Emeritus, Department of Medicine)
For his leading business acumen in the biotechnology industry and for his advancement of cutting-edge stem cell and leukemia research.

Dr. Paula Gordon, O.C. (Clinical Professor, Department of Radiology)
For advancing ultrasound imaging and technology in the early detection of breast cancer, as a prominent radiologist and researcher.

Dr. David Ley, O.C. (Professor Emeritus, Geography)
For his ongoing and substantial contributions to the field of human geography.


Dr. Pitman Potter, C.M. (Professor Emeritus, Peter A. Allard School of Law)
For his precedent-setting scholarship in the field of Chinese legal studies, and for his dedication and service to his community.


Full list of appointees


Please let us know if we have missed any current, former or UBC-affiliated faculty members from this listing.