UBC researchers among new and renewed Canada Research Chairs

Today, June 14, 2019, the Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science and Sport, announced an investment of over $275 million for 346 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs at 52 institutions across Canada for research excellence.

The Canada Research Chair program helps attract and retain top researchers across the country. Today’s announcement will support 15 new chairs at UBC, 16 renewed chairs and one Chair advancement.

The Canada Foundation for Innovation also made an important investment towards these Chairs. It is providing more than $5.2 million in new funding for research infrastructure, supporting 30 Chairs at 18 institutions, including 6 of the Canada Research Chairs at UBC. 

UBC has a current utilization of 205 Canada Research Chairs.


Mohammad Arjmand Canada Research Chair in Advanced Materials and Polymer Engineering, Tier 2

Marie Auger-Méthé Canada Research Chair in Statistical Ecology, Tier 2

Luke R. Bergmann Canada Research Chair in GIS, Geospatial Big Data and Digital Geohumanities, Tier 2

Julen J.E. Etxabe Canada Research Chair in Jurisprudence and Human Rights, Tier 2

Xiaoliang Jin Canada Research Chair in Advanced Manufacturing, Tier 2

Steven J.M. Jones Canada Research Chair in Computational Genomics, Tier 1

Mathav K. Murugan Canada Research Chair in Probability, Tier 2 

Warren J. Poole Canada Research Chair in Through Process Modelling of Advanced Structural Materials, Tier 1

Tarek A. Sayed Canada Research Chair in Transportation Safety and Advanced Mobility, Tier 1

U. Rashid Sumaila Canada Research Chair in Interdisciplinary Ocean and Fisheries Economics, Tier 1

Stuart E. Turvey Canada Research Chair in Pediatric Precision Health, Tier 1

Annie Vogel Ciernia Canada Research Chair in Understanding Gene Expression in the Brain, Tier 2

Yanwen Wang Canada Research Chair in Marketing Analytics, Tier 2

Elizabeth Wolkovich Canada Research Chair in Temporal Ecology, Tier 2

Naomi Zimmerman Canada Research Chair in Sustainability, Tier 2


Aaron C. Boley Canada Research Chair in Planetary Astronomy, Tier 2

Sabin Cautis Canada Research Chair in Algebraic Geometry, Tier 2

Nicholas C. Coops Canada Research Chair in Remote Sensing, Tier 1

Sean A. Crowe Canada Research Chair in Geomicrobiology, Tier 2

Vanessa de Oliveira Andreotti Canada Research Chair in Race, Inequalities and Global Change, Tier 2

Gary F. Hinshaw Canada Research Chair in Observational Cosmology, Tier 1

Christiane Hoppmann Canada Research Chair in Health and Adult Development, Tier 2

Jonathon A. Leipsic Canada Research Chair in Advanced Cardiopulmonary Imaging, Tier 2

Linda C. Li Canada Research Chair in Patient-oriented Knowledge Translation, Tier 2

Abel Rosado Canada Research Chair in Plant Cellular Dynamics, Tier 2

Galit Sarfaty Canada Research Chair in Global Economic Governance, Tier 2

Kate Shannon Canada Research Chair in Gender Equity, Sexual Health and Global Policy, Tier 2

Matthijs A. Smit Canada Research Chair in Applied Geochemistry of the Lithosphere, Tier 2

Weihong Song Canada Research Chair in Alzheimer's Disease, Tier 1

Evan Wood Canada Research Chair in Addiction Medicine, Tier 1

Jiaying Zhao Canada Research Chair in Behavioural Sustainability, Tier 2


Laurel L. Schafer Canada Research Chair in Catalyst Development, Tier 1 


See Announcement