Federal government announces investment in Canada Research Chairs Program

The Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science and Sport, announced significant investments in the Canada Research Chairs Program (CRCP).

The announcement includes a new investment of $210 million over the next five years, through Budget 2018, that will add 285 new chairs. This announcement also includes a boost for early career researchers and new and currently active Tier 2 Chairs who are receiving an additional supplement of up to $20,000 to help them establish their research projects.

The Government of Canada is also investing more than $156 million for 187 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs at 49 institutions across Canada from the most recent competition.

Read the CRC Release

New UBC Chairholders

Brunham, Liam R, Canada Research Chair in Precision Cardiovascular Disease Prevention

Cheung, William (Wai Lung), Canada Research Chair in Ocean Sustainability and Global Change

Ghoreishi Madiseh, Seyed Ali,  Canada Research Chair in Advanced Mine Energy Systems

Hutcheon, Jennifer A., Canada Research Chair in Perinatal Population Health

Jiang, Feng, Canada Research Chair in Sustainable Functional Biomaterials

Kunz, Nadja C., Canada Research Chair in Mine Water Management and Stewardship

Sigal, Leonid, Canada Research Chair in Computer Vision and Machine Learning

Waterman, Stephanie, Canada Research Chair in Ocean Turbulence

Williams, Karla, Canada Research Chair in Oncology

Wylie, Margaret A., Canada Research Chair in the Philosophy of Social and Historical Sciences

Ye, Ziliang, Canada Research Chair in Optical Control of Quantum Materials

Zandstra, Peter, Canada Research Chair in Stem Cell Bioengineering

Renewed UBC Chairholders

Algar, Russ W., Canada Research Chair in Bio/Chemical Sensing

Asselin, Edouard RP, Canada Research Chair in Aqueous Processing of Metals

Byers, Michael, Canada Research Chair in Global Politics and International Law

Diamond, Adele, Canada Research Chair in Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience

Farrell, Anthony P., Canada Research Chair in Fish Physiology, Culture and Conservation

Lightfoot, Sheryl, Canada Research Chair of Global Indigenous Rights and Politics

Lister, Alison, Canada Research Chair in Experimental Particle Physics

Ordonez, Martin, Canada Research Chair in Power Converters for Renewable Energy Systems

Ramdorai, Sujatha, Canada Research Chair in Mathematics

Stoeber, Boris, Canada Research Chair in Microfluidics and Sensing Technology

Wilkinson, David P, Canada Research Chair in Clean Energy and Electrochemical Technologies