Awards + Honours

UBC researchers have won countless awards, fellowships and prizes for their meaningful contributions to society.

Eight Nobel Laureates are associated with UBC, most famously Michael Smith who won the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1993 for his groundbreaking work in reprogramming segments of DNA.

Smith was just one of a longstanding community of faculty and alumni who have earned international recognition for their important work.

Such accolades firmly establish UBC as a global centre of research excellence, helping us to attract both funding partners and the world’s leading academic researchers.

As one of six Killam institutions, UBC offers yearly Killam funding to doctoral scholars, post-doctoral and faculty research fellows.

UBC's Nobel Laureates

Academic staff at time of award:
Michael Smith (1993, Chemistry)
Robert A. Mundell (1999, Economic Sciences), Bertram N. Brockhouse (1994, Physics)
Academic staff prior to award:
Hans G. Dehmelt (1989, Physics), H. Gobind Khorana (1968, Physiology or Medicine), Daniel Kahneman (2002, Economic Sciences), Richard H. Thaler (2017, Economic Sciences)
Academic staff after award:
Carl Wieman (2001, Physics)


Visit the Office of Research Prizes + Awards site for more information about UBC award winners and nomination support.

Learn more

External Awards

Recent UBC winners of external awards

Learn More

Internal Awards

Current faculty research awards winners

Learn More

Applications + Nominations

Deadlines, committees + resources

Learn More