Staff Directory

Office of the Vice President Research 

Address

Room 111 - Old Administration Building
6328 Memorial Road
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z2  Canada
Tel: (604) 822-1995    Fax: (604) 822-6295
Email: research.info@ubc.ca

 

Executive Officers

Prof. Helen M. Burt, PhD
Vice President Research pro tem
helen.burt@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-1467    
View bio
 

Prof. Gail Murphy, PhD
Associate Vice President Research pro tem
gail.murphy@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-4813
View bio
 

Prof. Philip Barker, PhD
Associate Vice President Research & Vice Principal Research, UBC-O
philip.barker@ubc.ca
tel: 250-807-9582   
View bio

Elise Vredenbregt
Executive Assistant to Helen Burt
elise.vredenbregt@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-0233
more

 
Emily LeBaron
Executive Assistant to Gail Murphy
emily.lebaron@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-3090
more

 
Andrea Kirkham
Executive Assistant to Philip Barker
andrea.kirkham@ubc.ca
tel: 250-807-8651

Staff in the VPR Office

Brenda Carrier
Faculty Awards Officer
brenda.carrier@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-6010
more 
 

Kyle W. Demes
Senior Advisor, Strategic Initiatives
kyle.demes@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-2379
more
 

Jamie Hall
Manager, Communications
jamie.hall@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-1267
more

 

Greg Martyn, MHM
Director
greg.martyn@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-1439
more

 

Julie Ovenell
Director, Communications (VPR/VPA)
julie.ovenell@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-1870
more
 

Vanessa Power
Coordinator, Communications (VPR/VPA)
vanessa.power@ubc.ca
604-822-6050
more
 

Dmitriy Ryabika
Research Analyst
dmitriy.ryabika@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-2762
more

International Office Contacts

*The International Office is currently transitioning to the Vice-President Academic. Visit the key contacts page for International Office contact information.

Faculty Research Advisors

UBC's National Funding Agency Research Advisors are specially appointed faculty members who work closely with researchers to promote awareness of funding opportunities across all disciplines and to provide support for individuals or groups considering applications to external agencies.  

Prof. Lara Boyd
Health Research Advisor
lara.boyd@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-7197

Prof. Leonard Foster
CFI Advisor
foster@chibi.ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-8311 

Prof. Alan Kingstone
Social Sciences & Humanities Research Advisor
alan.kingstone@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-9230

Prof. Tim Salcudean
Sciences & Engineering Research Advisor
tims@ece.ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-3243 

Prof. Corey Nislow
Advanced Research Computing Advisor
corey.nislow@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-1579

Institutional Programs Office 

The Institutional Programs Office manages the full cycle of major federal, provincial and regional research infrastructure awards including those offered by the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI), the BC Knowledge Development Fund (BCKDF), Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD), the Canada Excellence Research Fund (CFREF), and Canada Excellence Research Chairs (CERCs). 

Sharon Wu
Finance Director VPRI Portfolio
Director, Institutional Programs
sharon.wu@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-5279

Vicki Ferguson
CFI/BCKDF Program Officer
vicki.ferguson@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-5170

Amanda Main
Research & Administration Coordinator
amanda.main@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-1352

Andrea Anthony
Senior Finance Manager - Large Scale Projects
andrea.anthony@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-8599

Earl Dyer
Senior Finance Manager
earl.dyer@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-5281
 

Lynn Chia
Senior Finance Officer
lynn.chia@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-5278

Danny Wong
Finance Clerk
danny.wong@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-5934

Jackie Cheung
Senior Financial Analyst - Large Scale Projects
jackie.cheung@ubc.ca
tel: 604-827-1756

Andy Lam
Finance Manager
andy.lam@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-9965

Lis Boyan
Financial Analyst
lisrianti.boyan@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-8026

Cynthia Bai
Financial Analyst 
cynthia.bai@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-0232

Yvonne Lee (on leave)
Financial Analyst
yvonne.lee@ubc.ca
tel: 604-822-0232